An old friend with a new blog, a marathon and a poll

I’m always happy when I come across old friends that have started blogging or suddenly has a profile on Twitter (here is mine). Two days ago, I received a link from Ingvild Wedaa Tennfjord, a profiled Norwegian feature journalist in Dagbladet (portraits is her speciality) and at the Norwegian Broadcast Corporation, NRK.  She is always able to amuse me with her articles (in Norwegian).

We go way back to the student newspaper in Bergen, Studvest, but two years ago, our paths crossed again. By coincidence, I read on her Facebook profile that she was training for the Oslo Marathon, as part of an article she was writing for the Norwegian magazine KK. No offence, I thought, but this could not be the crazy party girl I used to know in Bergen. She proved me completely wrong, of course, and finished the marathon. A few days later, she was back on high heels! Now, she is apparently obsessed with polar watches and is still training.

To make a long and sweaty story short, Ingvild was actually the person who got me into street racing. I had only been running regularly for a bit more than half a year when I read about her accomplishment, and reading about her marathon preparations on Facebook (as well in the magazine), kick-started my own running ambitions. As I’ve already told you Ingvild, thanks for your inspiration and happy blogging!

So far, I’ve done two races, Brussels 20k and Paris-Versailles (16k). This spring, I will do the Brussels 20k (end of May) again, and is looking for another one as well. My big question is – should I go for the Berlin halfmarathon in the beginning of April, or would it be wiser to look for something shorter, ex 10k? I’ve asked two running friends about this, and got two different answers. Now, I need to ask you. 

8 thoughts on “An old friend with a new blog, a marathon and a poll

  1. I am going to be fair and only vote once…although since you already solicited my advice, that is kind of twice. just asked bryan in atlanta today…and he said “I think she can do it.”

  2. Ingvild Wedaa Tennfjord sent me this comment by email:

    Jeg har stemt, og har kommet frem til følgende: Klart du kan løpe to 21 km på syv uker!
    Og jeg har litt forskning å underbygge det med også. Holder på med eksamen i treningsveiledning på Idrettshøyskolen ( i know, i know… På listen over ti ting vi aldri hadde trodd, ha ha!)

    Hadde det vært snakk om et lenger løp, som halvmaraton + en maraton, hadde det ikke vært å anbefale.
    Men altså – 21 km er en påkjenning for kroppen, men du begynner ikke å virkelig, virkelig bryte den ned før du er oppe mot tre mil. Det vil si at du godt kan ta et løp som en slags oppvarming, restituere en uke, begynne å kjøre opp igjen og være i knall form til Berlin halvmaraton. Du rekker til og med å legge inn en pause på 7-10 dager, sånn at du får all effekt av overkompensasjon og stiller med friske bein og et lyst sinn på startstreken.
    You can do it, baby! Jeg stemmer for.
    Ingvild

  3. Dag, I’m not there yet!
    But maybe, one day, I will be ready to do a full marathon. Once in New York, at the top of the Chrysler building, Eirik pointed out the marathon route for me, and the vastness of the route made me dizzy (okay, the heigth as well).

    But I’m incredible impressed by people like you who are able to finish a marathon. One of my professors at Georgetown ran three marathons during one semester…

  4. The biggest difference between a half- and a full marathon is the psychological part. And time. The amount of time you need to run, especially the last 10-12 week requires lots of patience from your self and your family. But theres no doubt in my mind that you CAN do it. The question is only – do you bother.
    For great programs for 21 k and marathon, see this: http://www.marathon.se

  5. The glory of finishing a full marathon is much greater than the shorter distances. You can brag to ANYONE about a marathon, while none-runners do not that easily see the the drudgery a 20k run is.

    I’m not saying you should do one or another, but if you ever find it likely that you can do a 42k run without dieing; do it!

  6. Pingback: Heading for Berlin - Re-publica´09 and half marathon « Bente Kalsnes’ blog

Leave a Reply

