Three social media developments: Bild, European Citizens’ Consultations and Norwegian Facebook debate

Bildt, Germany’s largest newspaper, is partnering up with Lidl to sell cheap digital cameras to citizen journalists; EU has released a new citizen “portal”; Norwegian debate: can journalists be “fan” of politicians on Facebook?

  • Bild wants to expand by using citizen journalists. According to Herald Tribune, potential Bild-citizen journalists can buy a digital camera at Lidl for  66,99 euros and start producing content for the newspaper (whether you get paid or not is still a question. The newspaper is considering paying for top-quality images or establish a contest for best content).
  • EU launched it’s new “European Citizens’ Consultations” yesterday, an online debate forum for citizens. I went to the launch with commissioner Margot Wallström and MEP Diana Wallis at the European Policy Center yesterday, and to be honest, I think this project is a bit vague. People are supposed to debate all kinds of issues, but the crucial question is whether EU (the Commission, the Parliament, the Council) will actually listen to what the citizens are advising them to. That will determine the success of this website. Another success factor is how many and who will use this site.
  • An interesting and a bit illinformed Facebook debate has started in Norway. Can journalists be “fan” of politicians on Facebook, wrote Aftenposten (in Norwegian). A profiled political journalist was criticized because she was a “fan” of the Norwegian Prime Minister, Jens Stoltenberg, on Facebook. I’m also a “fan” of Jens Stoltenberg, as well as Eirik Solheim (Minister of Developement and Environment), and would be “fan” of more Norwegian politicians if they were on Facebook, mainly because I want to follow what they are doing on Facebook and how they communicate with people. I wished Facebook had a more neutral term, like “follow” (as Twitter), but that is not the case at this moment. I did consider whether it was appropriate for a journalist to be “fan” of a politician, but in this case, the semantic is of less importance. The most important thing for me is to observer how the politicians are dealing with these new tools. Ragnhildo and Geir Arne Bore have more about this debate. Colt is writing about how few Norwegian newspapers are on Facebook.
7 thoughts on “Three social media developments: Bild, European Citizens’ Consultations and Norwegian Facebook debate

  1. I follow Norwegian politicians on Twitter, but I don´t “fan” any of them on Facebook.

    It just feels strange sign up as a fan, when you´re really not.

    Silly, because I´d like to see how they communicate on the interwebs.

    I´m reconsidering my position after reading this post :)

  2. I know, Andreas, the whole “fan” term is annoying. But I’ve swallowed my pride and “fan” two politicians, I know I will “fan” more. Let me know what you conclude with:-)

  3. I think it’s rather Facebook-vocab… It for sure doesn’t mean you are a fan in the same way you’re a fan of a football team!

    BTW on the photo issue: are you aware of Scoopt?

  4. Pingback: Can journalists be a fan of a politician? | Online Journalism Blog

  5. Americans are “fans” and critics of various politicians via Facebook. Even non-Americans joined political fan clubs and critic clubs during the recent Presidential elections. It was nice–non-exclusive and no government crackdowns (as opposed to Croatia, where Facebookers were recently arrested for posting anti-government information).

  6. Yeah, definitly Facebook vocab. I can’t count all the articles I’ve read about Facebook “friends” –
    Facebook vocab has an incredible ability to confuse people, and media loves that, it seems!
    Paul, I haven’t found any other blogs about this article, except from the two I linked to. I will let you know if find some other.

    I just have to translate the quote from Per Edgar
    Kokkvold in the article, the general secretary of the Norwegian Press Association:
    -In a time when media have become liberated from the authorities, there is no reason to encourage problems and create doubts about journalists’ independence.

    I argue that you don’t lose your “independence” as a journalist if you are “fan” of a politician on Facebook, but you might confuse people.

Leave a Reply

